The GGE Community

Our Founder - HerStory

Joanne N. Smith, Founder and Executive Director, moves Girls for Gender Equity (GGE) closer to its mission through strategic advocacy, development, and leadership cultivation. Ms. Smith is a Haitian-American social worker born in NY. A staunch human rights advocate, Joanne co-chaired the nation’s first Young Women’s Initiative for girls of color in NYC, is a steering committee member of Black Girl Movement, and a Movement Maker with Move to End Violence-a 10-year initiative designed to strengthen the collective capacity to end gender based violence in the United States.  Joanne is an alumna of Hunter Graduate School of Social Work and Columbia Institute for Nonprofit Management. She has co-authored Hey Shorty: A Guide to Combating Sexual Harassment and Violence in Public Schools and on the Streets. Girls for Gender Equity’s work to combat sexual harassment in schools is featured in the 2014 documentary Anita: Speak Truth to Power. Joanne has received many awards including the Ms. Foundation 2018 Gloria Award as a Woman of Vision, a Commendation from NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer and Federation of Protestant Welfare Agencies - Local Women Leading Change award. Joanne resides in Brooklyn, NY.

Joanne N. Smith- Founder

“We must cause strategic disruption that changes society’s moral compass around trafficking, sexual assault, violence against girls, women and gender nonconforming people of color. This commitment to ending gender based violence and the devaluing of human rights is life long and I’m honored to fight with survivors, allies, and friends as we say NO MORE.”

Our Board

Sandra Park, Esq, Board Chair

ACLU

 

Naomi Abraham, Board Secretary

Resonance

 

Mary Ferry, Board Treasurer

Fund Manager of Benefits Fund of Wardrobe 764

 

Afua Addo, MHC

Center for Court Innovation

 

Monica Dennis

Epifani Enterprises, Inc

Dr. Pei Desrosiers

NYC Administration for Children’s Services/

Division of Financial Service, NY

 

Rovika Rajkishun

The New York Immigration Coalition

 

Cynthia Steele

EMpower

 

Joanne N. Smith

Girls for Gender Equity (GGE)

Our staff

Executive Team

Joanne N. Smith, President & Chief Executive Officer | JSmith@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 106

Michelle Grier, LMSW, Chief Program Officer | MGrier@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext.115

Doreen Odom, Chief Operating Officer | DOdom@ggenyc.org

Sabrina Philson, Chief of Staff | SPhilson@ggenyc.org

Luciana Lozada, Executive Liaison | LLozada@ggenyc.org

Institutional Advancement and Development

Shakira O’Kane, Esq., Senior Director of Institutional Advancement | SOkane@ggenyc.org

Peggy Hupcey, Director of Development | PHupcey@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 103

Ayanna DaCosta, Grant Writer | ADacosta@ggenyc.org

Operations and Finance

Onika Williams, Director of Operations | OWilliams@ggenyc.org | (718) 857-1393, ext. 118

Danielle Richardson, Deputy Director of Operations | DRichardson@ggenyc.org

Gaelle Win Robin, Director of People Operations | GRobin@ggenyc.org | (718) 857-1393, ext. 123

Anisha Jessop, Accountant | AJessop@ggenyc.org

Katie Healy, Finance Coordinator | KHealy@ggenyc.org

Marketing & Storytelling

Toni Wilson, Director of Culture and Narrative Shift | TWilson@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 113

Naomi Lilly, Director of Marketing & Storytelling | NLilly@ggenyc.org

Diana Walker, Manager of Graphic Design & Visual Content | DWalker@ggenyc.org | 718.857.1393 ext. 119

Tess Weiner, Manager of Storytelling and Youth Engagement | TWeiner@ggenyc.org

Saide Singh, Copywriter | SSingh@ggenyc.org

 

Programs and Social Work

Vanne Paige Padgett, Director of Programs | VPpadgett@ggenyc.org | 646-377-2812

Hollisha Liverpool-Brown, Deputy Director of Programs: YWAC and YWI | HLiverpoolBrown@ggenyc.org

Maya Guttman-Slater, Deputy Director of Programs Operations | MGuttman-slater@ggenyc.org

Shelly Strothers, GGE Program Manager | SStrothers@ggenyc.org

Kretel Krah, YWAC Program Manager | KKrah@ggenyc.org

Erika Chambers, JustUs Program Co-Manager | EChambers@ggenyc.org

Nyell Lopez, JustUs Program Co-Manager | NLopez@ggenyc.org

Aaliyah Thomas, JustUs Program Liaison | AThomas@ggenyc.org

Baylor Andrews, SIS Program Manager | BAndrews@ggenyc.org

Nia Oden, Social Work Manager | NOden@ggenyc.org

Sue Suilla Daley, GGE Youth Fellow | SDaley@ggenyc.org

Bo Scarim, Social Work Intern | BScarim@ggenyc.org

Melissa Centeno, Social Work Intern, SIS | MCenteno@ggenyc.org

Morgan Avis, Social Work Intern, YWAC | MAvis@ggenyc.org

Policy & Organizing

Quadira Coles, Director of Policy  | QColes@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext.119

Breya Johnson, Deputy Director of Organizing | BJohnson@ggenyc.org

Damala Denny, Youth & Alumni Organizing Manager | DDenny@ggenyc.org

Ella Grace Downs, Policy & Government Affairs Manager | EGdowns@ggenyc.org

Eman Gad, Policy Liaison | EGad@ggenyc.org

Tyahija Martin, JD, Legal Fellow, Equal Justice Works | TMartin@ggenyc.org

Our Partners, Fundraisers, And Donors