The GGE Community

Our Founder - HerStory

Joanne N. Smith, Founder and Executive Director, moves Girls for Gender Equity (GGE) closer to its mission through strategic advocacy, development, and leadership cultivation. Ms. Smith is a Haitian-American social worker born in NY. A staunch human rights advocate, Joanne co-chaired the nation’s first Young Women’s Initiative for girls of color in NYC, is a steering committee member of Black Girl Movement, and a Movement Maker with Move to End Violence-a 10-year initiative designed to strengthen the collective capacity to end gender based violence in the United States.  Joanne is an alumna of Hunter Graduate School of Social Work and Columbia Institute for Nonprofit Management. She has co-authored Hey Shorty: A Guide to Combating Sexual Harassment and Violence in Public Schools and on the Streets. Girls for Gender Equity’s work to combat sexual harassment in schools is featured in the 2014 documentary Anita: Speak Truth to Power. Joanne has received many awards including the Ms. Foundation 2018 Gloria Award as a Woman of Vision, a Commendation from NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer and Federation of Protestant Welfare Agencies - Local Women Leading Change award. Joanne resides in Brooklyn, NY.

Joanne N. Smith- Founder

“We must cause strategic disruption that changes society’s moral compass around trafficking, sexual assault, violence against girls, women and gender nonconforming people of color. This commitment to ending gender based violence and the devaluing of human rights is life long and I’m honored to fight with survivors, allies, and friends as we say NO MORE.”

Our Board

Sandra Park, Esq, Board Chair

ACLU

 

Naomi Abraham, Board Secretary

Resonance

 

Mary Ferry, Board Treasurer

Fund Manager of Benefits Fund of Wardrobe 764

 

Afua Addo, MHC

Center for Court Innovation

 

Monica Dennis

Epifani Enterprises, Inc

Dr. Pei Desrosiers

NYC Administration for Children’s Services/

Division of Financial Service, NY

 

Rovika Rajkishun

The New York Immigration Coalition

 

Cynthia Steele

EMpower

 

Joanne N. Smith

Girls for Gender Equity (GGE)

Our staff

Executive Team

Joanne N. Smith, President & Chief Executive Officer | JSmith@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 106

Tiffany Williams, Chief Operating Officer | TWilliams@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext.104

Michelle Grier, LMSW, Chief Programs Officer | MGrier@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext.115

Development & Institutional Advancement

Shakira O’Kane, Esq., Senior Director of Institutional Advancement | SOkane@ggenyc.org

Peggy Hupcey, Director of Development | PHupcey@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 103

Tiffany Lee, Development & Operations Liaison | TLee@ggenyc.org

Operations

Onika Williams, Deputy Director of Operations | OWilliams@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 118

Anisha Jessop, Accountant | AJessop@ggenyc.org

Katie Healy, Finance Coordinator | KHealy@ggenyc.org

Marketing & Storytelling

Diana Walker, Manager of Graphic Design & Visual Content | DWalker@ggenyc.org | 718.857.1393 ext. 119

Tess Weiner, Manager of Marketing & Storytelling | TWeiner@ggenyc.org

Symone Jackson, Marketing & Media Management Associate | SJackson@ggenyc.org

Ashley Nickens, Copywriter | ANickens@ggenyc.org

 

Programs and Social Work

Vanne Paige Padgett, Director of Programs | VPpadgett@ggenyc.org | 646-377-2812

Hollisha Liverpool, YWAC Programs Manager | HLiverpool@ggenyc.org

Shelly Strothers, GGE Program Manager | SStrothers@ggenyc.org

Erika Chambers, JustUs Program Manager | EChambers@ggenyc.org

Maya Guttman-Slater, Executive & Program Operations Manager | MGuttman-slater@ggenyc.org

Georgina Pierre-Louis, Program Liaison, A.L.L. | GPierrelouis@ggenyc.org

Chelsea O’Neill, SIS Program Liaison | COneill@ggenyc.org

Ella Grace Downs, Policy Liaison | EGdowns@ggenyc.org

Aaliyah Thomas, Program Liaison, JustUs | AThomas@ggenyc.org

Nia Oden, Program Liaison, NABG | NOden@ggenyc.org

Policy & Organizing

Quadira Coles, Deputy Director of Policy  | QColes@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext.119

Toni Wilson, Director of National Organizing | TWilson@ggenyc.org | 718-857-1393 ext. 113

Breya Johnson, Deputy Director of Organizing | BJohnson@ggenyc.org

Damala Denny, Organizing Manager | DDenny@ggenyc.org

Interns & Fellows

Dastina Myers, Youth Fellow, Vera Institute of Justice | DMyers@ggenyc.org

Tyahija Martin, JD, Legal Fellow, Equal Justice Works | TMartin@ggenyc.org

Eman Gad, Organizing & Policy Fellow | EGad@ggenyc.org

Our Partners, Fundraisers, And Donors